NZIST Establishment Board Announces TPP Board of Directors

Tai Poutini Polytechnic welcomes the appointment of the Board of Directors for NZIST Subsidiary Tai Poutini Polytechnic from 1 April 2020, announced today by the NZIST Establishment Board.

TPP Board members have been appointed from across the region, they are:

Rebecca Keoghan – Chair

Rob Caldwell – Deputy Chair

Kara Edwards (Ngāi Tahu)

Renee Rooney

The Board of Directors replaces the Tai Poutini Polytechnic Council under the new national training model. Read the media release from the NZIST Establishment Board here:

TPP Chief Executive Alex Cabrera says it is good to welcome the new board members, who will offer strong regional advice and governance to the new national institute.

“Myself and the staff at TPP look forward to working with the new Board of Directors as the new national system of vocational training is rolled out. I’d also like to thank our outgoing TPP Council members for their commitment to the delivery of quality tertiary education on the West Coast and all their hard work in recent times.

“While the new institute comes into effect on 1 April this year, we do not expect students and the wider community to see any immediate changes. It will take several years for the new system to become fully operational and we will work with our new Subsidiary Board to maximise the potential benefits for the West Coast.”

Read the full NZIST Establishment Board media release here:


For more information contact:

Mequa Hourston, Leader – Engagement
DDI: 03 7699 405 | Mobile: 027 237 5844 | email: